Voluntears

Volunteer work has been a very large part of my high school career. Since my first service event freshman year, I have fell in love with helping out the community. It’s a fun way to hang out with friends, meet new people, and make a positive inpact on others. 

My opinion on volunteering has not changed, however, my mom said something to me the other day when she picked me up from a volunteer event that made me see things from a different view. 

It was an event called Miracle Babies with CSF where we helped set up and run a Halloween party for families that attended the fertility hospital. 

My mom said “why are they getting volunteers for an event they could pay workers for? It seems like it’s for a good cause, but it’s just a party that the hospital threw for its patients since they made a lot of money from them.” 

Although I am not sure if that is the true intent of the event, my mom’s reasoning seems very logical to me. Are organizations exploiting volunteers as free workers by masquerading as a good cause? Are volunteers willing to do it anyway because of the hours and to work with children? 

Leave a Reply

