Everybody Dies, But Not Everybody Lives

As I was scrolling through my Facebook feed, I stopped to play a video that a friend had shared. It was from a popular inspirational speaker, Prince Ea. The video was titled, “EVERYBODY DIES, BUT NOT EVERYBODY LIVES.”

I love and hate these types of videos. They are so inspiring and passionate that it makes me want to jump out of my seat and change the world. FOLLOW YOUR DREAMS. PURSUE YOUR PASSIONS. DON’T LET ANYONE TELL YOU WHAT TO DO. These are the ideals that are expressed in “inspirational videos.”

“They regretted not the things they did, but the things they didn’t do, the risks they never took, the dreams they didn’t pursue.” -Prince Ea

BUT… how can you avoid this regret? Compulsory education, parental pressure, clubs, extracurricular activities, maintain a social life, have friends, and don’t forget to stay active, sleep at least eight hours, and drink eight glasses of water a day. There is simply not enough minutes in a day to follow your dreams.

But the saddest part yet: I don’t have one. There is nothing that I’m am so passionate about that I could imagine doing it for the rest of my life. The idea of “following your dreams” is so beautiful and abstract, if only I could appreciate it.

However, it is still too early to surrender.When I find out what my passion is, I will feel how it feels to truly “live.”

Leave a Reply

